Dr. Norman C. Delarue

The late Dr. Norman C. Delarue has been described as "the father of the Canadian medical profession's interest in smoking." Dr. Delarue was a Toronto thoracic surgeon who was a tireless opponent of tobacco use. Long before it was fashionable, he fought vigorously against smoking, through lecturing, lobbying and research.

To honour Dr. Delarue's foresight, integrity and contribution to public health, PSC established the Dr. Norman C. Delarue Award in 1993 .

2007 Recipient -  Tyler Ward - (Toronto)

Tyler Ward, is a University of Toronto student and executive director of Education-Bringing Youth Tobacco Truths (E-BUTT).  He used his powers of persuasion and strategy to convince the University of Toronto to divest its financial holdings in the tobacco industry and continues to campaign for tobacc-free post secondary institutions. 

2002 Recipient - Heather Crowe (Ottawa)

Heather Crowe is an Ottawa waitress whose 40 year career in the hospitality industry ended when she was diagnosed with lung cancer in the spring of 2002.  Heather never smoked a day in her life.

By sharing her story with Canadians, and by challenging legislators to improve health and safety protection for workers exposed to second hand smoke, Heather greatly advanced public health.

See also:  Heather Crowe Campaign.

1999 Recipient - Dr. Richard Stanwick (Victoria)

Dr. Richard Stanwick is Regional medical Health Officer for the Capital Regional District (CRD) in British Columbia.  On January 1, 1999, the CRD became Canada's first municipal district to provide 100% smoke-free public places.  This important public health advance followed several years of public health education under Dr. Stanwick's leadership, including programs to build voluntary compliance with 100% smoke-free laws.

1997 Recipient - Dr. Ron Stewart (Halifax)

Among Canadian physicians, Dr. Ron Stewart is a leader in public health issues and public health policy.  As Minister of Health for the province of Nova Scotia from 1993 to 1996, he pressed for improvements in provincial tobacco policy. As president and spokesperson for the Canadian Council for Tobacco Control, he championed national legislation to regulate the tobacco industry and ban tobacco promotion. He is currently professor of emergency medicine at Dalhousie University.

1996 Recipient - Dr. Lloyd Bartlett (Winnipeg)

Dr. Loyd Bartlett has fought tobacco in every forum. He developed his own information sheets and cessation programs for his patients, and continues to monitor their effectiveness. He represented the CMA for many years on several national tobacco related bodies and actively participated in the campaign for the Tobacco Products Control Act.

1995 Recipient - Dr. Gaston Isabelle (Hull)

Dr. Gaston Isabelle was the Member of Parliament for Hull-Aylmer from 1965 to 1988. He chaired the Standing Committee on Health, Welfare and Social Affairs during its pivotal review and its 1969 report on tobacco and smoking.

1994 Recipient - Mr. Douglas Geekie (Ottawa)

Douglas Geekie was Director of Communications and Government Relations for the Canadian Medical Association for 25 years. He recognized the powerful voice doctors have in countering the marketing tactics of the tobacco industry and spearheaded the CMA's involvement in health advocacy.

1993 Recipient - Dr. John Read (Calgary)

Dr. John Read of Calgary, Alberta was honoured for his long time commitment to breakingthe link between tobacco products and sport. One of his major accomplishments was the establishment of the first smoke-free Olympic games, the Calgary Winter Games of 1988.